slider-1

Compassion lives here

slider-2

We provide superior palliative care within the community

WestIslandPalliativeCareResidence_Home_1

We guide the journey, but never lead it...our patients do that

WestIslandPalliativeCareResidence_Home_2

We focus on life

WestIslandPalliativeCareResidence_Home_3

We recognize and respect the individuality of each person

Welcome

With its two facilities (Pavillon André-Brunet and Pavillon Stillview), the West Island Palliative Care Residence provides compassionate care allowing terminally ill patients to die in comfort and with dignity in a warm, home-like environment, close to their family, and in their community. We want our patients to live the final chapter of their lives in the best and most fulfilling manner possible. The Residence’s team of physicians, nurses, counselors, supportive care workers and volunteers work together to address the physical symptoms as well as the emotional, social and spiritual needs of the patients and their families.

Our Mission

To provide active and compassionate care in order to comfort and support terminally ill patients and their loved ones and to continue as a leader in palliative care within Quebec and Canada.

Our Vision

As a leader,

  • To be at the forefront of providing superior palliative care within the community health care network;
  • To promote and support a range of services to patients requiring palliative care, at home, in hospital, and at the West Island Palliative Care Residence;
  • To serve as a role model and resource for other communities wishing to organize freestanding palliative care residences;
  • To promote and provide education to health professionals and volunteers to enhance competence in delivery of palliative care services;
  • To promote and provide education in the community, to increase awareness and to provide understanding of the needs of the terminally ill and their families;
  • To continuously improve palliative care through research and knowledge transfer;
  • To ensure that grief support is available and to promote it in the community.

News and Upcoming Events

Groundbreaking Ceremony

Friday, June 15th, was a defining moment in our future as dignitaries, board members, employees, volunteers, donors and special guests gathered to celebrate the start of construction to consolidate our two separate locations into a single, expanded facility housing all of our 23 beds. The 30,000 square foot extension of the original building on André-Brunet Street onto an adjacent tract of land represents a transformation of the Residence. Designed with the goal of maintaining a home-like environment, the new building will offer a more efficient, medically relevant floor plan. Importantly, the new building will bring all staff and volunteers together so that patients and families will benefit from the consistent and seamless approach to care and services

For more information

Creation of the Montreal Institute for Palliative Care: comforting news for patients at end of life

Sharing advancements in palliative care will benefit patients and families across Canada says Quebec Health Minister

On May 11, 2018, Canada’s largest freestanding palliative care residence launched the Montreal Institute for Palliative Care (MIPC), a highly collaborative endeavor that is committed to extending the benefits of palliative care to as many Canadians as possible. The announcement was made during National Hospice Palliative Care Week by Ms. Teresa Dellar, Executive Director and Co-Founder of the West Island Palliative Care Residence.

For more information

Presidents’ Awards 2018

On May 11th, in honour of National Hospice Palliative Care week, we held the third edition of the Presidents’ Awards of the West Island Palliative Care Residence. The Presidents’ Awards were inaugurated in 2016 to celebrate the pioneers in palliative care and to recognize individuals or groups who have made a significant contribution to palliative care and to the Residence. It is also an opportunity to remind us that it is a combined effort of professionals, volunteers, donors and stakeholders who work together to ensure the best quality of life for patients and their families. 

For more information

Capital Campaign, Caring and Sharing – Under One Roof

On April 11, 2018, the Residence launched its 2017-2018 Capital Campaign, Caring and Sharing – Under One Roof. The campaign aims at raising $12.5 million in order to consolidate our two separate locations into a single, state-of-the-art facility, and to share best practices in palliative care through the creation of a National Education and Knowledge Transfer Program.

Press Release

We rely on the generosity of individuals and corporations just like you!

News

Click here to get the most recent news about the Residence

About Us

The West Island Palliative Care Residence provides services free of charge to patients and their families. The Residence receives one-third of its operational budget from the Quebec government and relies on community support and fundraising activities to raise the balance of more than 3.5 million dollars.

We are an independent, community-based, non-profit organization, accredited by the Quebec government and offers services to residents of the West Island of Montreal. With its 23 beds, the Residence is the largest freestanding palliative care facility in Canada and is recognized as a leader in its field.

Key Facts About the Residence

    • Since it opened in 2002, over 4,100 patients have spent their final days at the Residence and we have helped more than 17,000 family members;
    • The youngest patient was 18, the oldest 102;
    • Our patients have been in the final stages of ALS, multiple sclerosis, cardiovascular disease, cancer as well as many other diseases;
    • The Residence is not a long-term care facility and therefore must screen patients in order to admit those best suited for the care we provide;
    • The West Island Palliative Care Residence is fully accredited by the Quebec government and receives from the Province one third of its annual operating budget. The Foundation of the Residence is responsible for raising the balance of more than $3.5 million each year.

Young Ambassadors Initiative

We are the Young Ambassadors of the West Island Palliative Care Residence. Our committee consists of young adults who dedicate themselves to educating and raising awareness on the importance of palliative care among their peers. We attain these objectives by organizing events and raising funds in support of the Residence. Whether we’ve directly witnessed the benefits of palliative care through the passing of a loved one or simply recognize that everyone has the right to live their final days with dignity, we all share the common goal of wanting to take part in the future of palliative care. We are ready to explore a new set of challenges with the aim of sparking initiative among youth and placing ourselves at the forefront of palliative care. If you are interested in joining our initiative and becoming a young leader in palliative care, please contact Jessica at jnewey@wipcr.ca.

For more information…

Testimonial

Here is an excerpt from Shannon’s blog writing about her dad’s passing at the West Island Palliative Care Residence. “ ‘I am both the happiest, and saddest I’ve ever been, at the same time… Do you know what I mean?’ he’d ask me just days before he died. A tear rolled down my cheek, a gentle smile on my face, I nodded. I did understand. There was such light, and love in his dying process.” Read the full article here.

Testimonials

“The way I look at it is this: there’s good news and there’s bad news. The bad news is that my condition is terminal. The good news is that I’m in a Palliative Care Residence that allows me to confront death with dignity, something I could have never done without their support.”

Rick

“Privileged to have lived these last moments among you, with the beautiful and great family of the Residence, your warmth, your compassion, your soothing words and gestures enabled us to face this great voyage. I miss Léo; my heart feels empty, but your devotion and the quality of your care made all the difference. We are never ready to see a loved one go, but you knew how to accompany us in dignity. I am very grateful.”

Francine

“We feel blessed that our mom and our family shared our final moments in such a serene, dignified setting and most importantly, free from the excruciating pain she had suffered days prior to her admission at the Residence. Thanks to the West Island Palliative Care Residence, she died peacefully, free of pain and in dignity.”

Anthony

“Everyone at the Residence provided us with kindness, sympathy and understanding. The staff always anticipated Elizabeth’s needs and discomforts and were there to provide excellent medical, professional and emotional support. They also understood the pressures and anxieties of the visiting loved ones and offered an empathetic ear and a kind thought. It was a very difficult time but you made it as comfortable as possible….we will remain forever grateful.”

Richard, Elizabeth’s brother

Partners with a big heart

slider-1

La compassion, c’est notre priorité

Slide background

Nous offrons des soins palliatifs de qualité supérieure dans la communauté

Slide background

Nous accompagnons les patients, mais ce sont eux qui tracent la voie

Slide background

Nous mettons l’accent sur la vie

Slide background

Nous reconnaissons et respectons l’individualité de chaque personne

Bienvenue

Avec ses deux installations (Pavillon André-Brunet et Pavillon Stillview), la Résidence de soins palliatifs de l’Ouest-de-l’Île fournit des soins compatissants et avec son ambiance chaleureuse et réconfortante, permet aux patients en phase terminale de vivre leurs derniers jours dans le confort et la dignité près de leur famille et dans leur communauté. Nous voulons que nos patients vivent le dernier chapitre de leur vie dans la meilleure et la plus enrichissante manière que possible. Le personnel de la Résidence: médecins, infirmières, conseillers, travailleuses sociales et bénévoles travaillent ensemble pour traiter les symptômes physiques ainsi que les besoins affectifs, sociaux et spirituels des patients et leurs familles.

Notre mission

Prodiguer avec compassion des soins actifs afin de réconforter et de soutenir les patients en phase terminale et leurs proches, et continuer d’agir à titre de chef de file en soins palliatifs au Québec et au Canada.

Notre vision

À titre de chef de file :

    • être à l’avant-garde de la prestation de soins palliatifs de qualité supérieure au sein du réseau communautaire de soins de santé;
    • promouvoir et soutenir une gamme de services aux patients qui nécessitent des soins palliatifs, et ce, à domicile, à l’hôpital et à la Résidence de soins palliatifs de l’Ouest-de-l’Île;
    • servir de modèle et être une référence pour les communautés qui désirent mettre sur pied des résidences indépendantes de soins palliatifs;
    • promouvoir l’éducation et offrir de la formation aux professionnels de la santé et aux bénévoles pour améliorer  les compétences dans la prestation des soins palliatifs;
    • promouvoir l’éducation dans la communauté, afin d’accroître la sensibilisation et la compréhension des besoins des patients en phase terminale et ceux de leur famille;
    • améliorer continuellement les soins palliatifs par la recherche et la transmission du savoir;
    • assurer des services de soutien au deuil aux proches des patients de la Résidence et en faire la promotion dans la communauté.

Nouvelles et événements à venir

Cérémonie de pelletée de terre

Le 15 juin 2018 marque un moment décisif dans notre avenir. Des dignitaires, des membres des conseils d’administration, des employés, des bénévoles, des donateurs et des invités spéciaux se sont réunis pour célébrer le début des travaux de consolidation de nos deux emplacements en un seul établissement agrandi qui abritera nos 23 lits. L’expansion de 2 787 mètres carrés (30 000 pieds carrés) sur un terrain adjacent à l’édifice original sur la rue André-Brunet représente une transformation de la Résidence. Conçu dans le but de maintenir un milieu semblable à la maison, le nouveau bâtiment présentera un aménagement plus efficace et pertinent sur le plan médical. Plus important encore, il permettra de réunir l’ensemble des employés et des bénévoles pour offrir aux patients et aux familles une approche uniforme et harmonieuse dans les soins et services.

Pour plus d’information

Création de l’Institut de soins palliatifs de Montréal : une nouvelle réconfortante pour les patients en fin de vie

Le partage des progrès en soins palliatifs profitera aux patients et aux familles partout au Canada, affirme le ministre de la Santé du Québec

Le 11 mai 2018, la plus importante résidence indépendante de soins palliatifs au Canada a lancé l’Institut de soins palliatifs de Montréal (ISPM), un projet hautement collaboratif qui vise à faire profiter des bienfaits des soins palliatifs au plus grand nombre de Canadiens possible. L’annonce, qui a eu lieu dans le cadre de la Semaine nationale des soins palliatifs, a été faite par Teresa Dellar, directrice générale et cofondatrice de la Résidence de soins palliatifs de l’Ouest-de-l’Île.

Pour plus d’information

Prix des présidents

Le 11 mai, en l’honneur de la Semaine nationale des soins palliatifs, nous avons tenu la troisième édition des Prix des présidents de la Résidence de soins palliatifs de l’Ouest-de-l’Île. Les Prix des présidents ont été inaugurés en 2016 pour célébrer les pionniers des soins palliatifs et reconnaître des personnes ou des groupes qui ont contribué de façon importante aux soins palliatifs et à la Résidence. Il s’agit aussi d’une occasion de nous remémorer les efforts combinés de professionnels, de bénévoles, de donateurs et d’intervenants qui travaillent de pair pour assurer la meilleure qualité de vie aux patients et aux familles.

Pour plus d’information

Campagne majeure de financement 2017-2018, Soigner et partager – sous un même toit

Le 11 avril 2018, la Résidence a lancé sa Campagne majeure de financement 2017-2018, Soigner et partager – sous un même toit. La campagne vise à recueillir 12,5 millions de dollars afin de  consolider ses deux emplacements en une seule installation à la fine pointe, et mettre sur pied notre Programme national de transmission du savoir et d’éducation.

Communiqué de presse

Nous comptons sur la générosité d’un grand nombre d’individus!

NOUVELLES

Cliquez ici pour lire les plus récentes nouvelles de la Résidence

ÉVÉNEMENTS À VENIR

Joignez-vous à une de nos nombreuses activités organisées tout au long de l’année

À PROPOS DE NOUS

Tous les services fournis par la Résidence de soins palliatifs de l’Ouest-de-l’Île sont gratuits pour les patients et les familles grâce à l’appui d’individus, d’entreprises de la communauté et de fondations privées. La Résidence reçoit un tiers de son financement du gouvernement du Québec. Elle dépend de l’appui de la communauté et des activités et campagnes de financement pour amasser la balance de plus de 3,5 millions de dollars.

Nous sommes une organisation communautaire indépendante à but non lucratif accréditée par le Gouvernement du Québec afin de fournir des services de santé en soins palliatifs aux résidents de l’Ouest-de-l’Île. Aves ses 23 lits, la Résidence est la plus grande résidence de soins palliatifs indépendante au Canada et est reconnue en tant que leader dans le domaine.

Faits saillants à propos de la Résidence de soins palliatifs de l’Ouest-de-l’Île

    • Depuis son ouverture, la Résidence a aidé plus de 4 100 patients et 17 000 de leurs proches;
    • Le plus jeune patient était de 18 ans et le plus âgé de 105;
    • Nos admettons des patients en phase terminale : sclérose latérale amyotrophique, sclérose en plaques, maladie cardiovasculaire, cancer et autres.
    • Tous les services fournis par la Résidence sont gratuits pour les patients et les familles.
    • La Résidence n’est pas un établissement de soins de longue durée et nous devons donc trier les admissions afin d’admettre les cas les mieux adaptés pour les soins que nous fournissons.
    • La Résidence de soins palliatifs de l’Ouest-de-l’Île est agréée par le gouvernement du Québec et obtient de la part de celui-ci le tiers de son budget de fonctionnement annuel. La Fondation de la Résidence est responsable d’amasser le reste, soit plus de plus de 3,5 millions $ annuellement.

Initiative des Jeunes Ambassadeurs

Nous sommes les Jeunes Ambassadeurs de la Résidence de soins palliatifs de l’Ouest-de-l’Île. Notre comité se compose de jeunes adultes qui s’engagent à éduquer et à sensibiliser ses pairs sur l’importance des soins palliatifs. Nous atteignons cet objectif en organisant des événements et en amassant des fonds pour appuyer la Résidence. Que nous ayons été témoins des bénéfices des soins palliatifs par le décès d’un proche ou reconnaissions simplement que tout le monde a le droit d’écouler ses derniers jours dans la dignité, nous partageons tous l’objectif commun de vouloir prendre part à l’avenir des soins palliatifs. Cette année, nous sommes prêts à explorer de nouveaux défis dans le but de stimuler des initiatives chez les jeunes et de nous positionner à l’avant-garde des soins palliatifs. Si vous êtes intéressé à vous joindre à notre initiative et à devenir un jeune meneur dans les soins palliatifs, communiquez avec Jessica à jnewey@wipcr.ca

Pour plus d’information…

Témoignage

Voici un extrait du blog de Shannon qui écrit à propos du décès de son père à la Résidence de soins palliatifs de l’Ouest-de-l’Île (texte en anglais seulement) : “ ‘I am both the happiest, and saddest I’ve ever been, at the same time… Do you know what I mean?’ he’d ask me just days before he died. A tear rolled down my cheek, a gentle smile on my face, I nodded. I did understand. There was such light, and love in his dying process.”  Lisez l’article au complet ici.

TÉMOIGNAGES

“La façon dont je vois les choses est la suivante: il y a de bonnes nouvelles et il y a de mauvaises nouvelles. La mauvaise nouvelle, c’est que je suis en phase terminale. La bonne nouvelle c’est que je suis admis à la Résidence de soins palliatifs de l’Ouest-de-l’Île qui me permet d’affronter la mort avec dignité, chose que je n’aurais jamais pu faire sans leur soutien. »

Rick

« Je suis privilégiée d’avoir vécu mes derniers moments parmi vous, avec la belle et grande famille de la Résidence. Votre chaleur, votre compassion, vos paroles et vos gestes apaisants nous ont permis de faire face à ce grand voyage. Je m’ennuie de Léo, mon cœur se sent vide, mais votre dévouement et la qualité de vos soins ont fait toute la différence. Nous ne sommes jamais prêts à voir un être cher partir, mais vous avez su nous accompagner dans la dignité. Je suis très reconnaissante. »

Francine

« Nous nous sentons privilégiés que notre mère et notre famille ayons partagé nos derniers moments dans un environnement imprégné d’une dignité sereine et surtout exempt de la douleur atroce que notre mère avait endurée les jours précédant son admission à la Résidence. Grâce à la Résidence de soins palliatifs de l’Ouest-de-l’Île, elle est partie en paix, sans douleur et dans la dignité. »

Anthony

« Tout le monde à la Résidence nous a accueillis avec gentillesse, sympathie et compréhension. Le personnel prévoyait toujours les besoins et les malaises d’Elizabeth et était là pour fournir d’excellents soins médicaux, professionnels et émotionnels. Ils ont aussi compris les pressions et les angoisses de la famille et des amis proches et nous ont offert beaucoup d’empathie et d’appui. C’était un moment très difficile, mais vous l’avez fait aussi confortable que possible…nous serons éternellement reconnaissants. »

Richard, le frère d’Elizabeth

PARTENAIRES AU GRAND COEUR