Presidents’ Awards

On October 17th, in conjunction with Projection Week Montreal, we held the fourth edition of the Presidents’ Awards of the West Island Palliative Care Residence. The Presidents’ Awards were inaugurated in 2016 to celebrate the pioneers in palliative care and to recognize individuals or groups who have made a significant contribution to palliative care and to the Residence. It is also an opportunity to remind us that it is a combined effort of professionals, volunteers, donors and stakeholders who work together to ensure the best quality of life for patients and their families.

The Balfour Mount Award honours an individual, family or group who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to hospice palliative care through their volunteer service and/or leadership in philanthropic and community support. This year’s recipients of the Balfour Mount Award are Louise and Lorne Trottier – The Trottier Family Foundation – The Residence’s top donor (cumulative amount and largest one time commitment) who have been giving since before the Residence opened its doors in 2002.

The Ina Cummings Award honours an individual, or group working together as a team, who have made a significant contribution to medical excellence in palliative care. This year’s recipient of the Ina Cummings Award is Dr. Patrick Vinay – Former President of La Société québécoise des médecins de soins palliatifs; Professor Emeritus at Université de Montréal’s Faculty of Medicine. He retired from medical practice in 2015.

The Bernard Lapointe Award honours an individual, or group working together as a team, who has made a significant contribution to educating professionals and the public in the field of hospice palliative care.This year’s Bernard Lapointe Award recipient is Ms. Suzanne O’Brien – Former Executive Director of Hope & Cope and is now its Chair of the Board; Co-Chair McGill Council on Palliative Care; was on the Executive Committee of the 2018 International Palliative Care Congress held in Montreal; expert in volunteer management and helped the Residence in the hiring process for the last Volunteer Manager.

The Sue Britton Award honours a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse who has made a significant contribution to nursing in palliative care. This year’s Sue Britton Award recipient is Ms. Maryse Bouvette – Inf/RN, BSc, Med, CSIO(C), CSIP(C); Coordinator of the Regional Palliative Consultation Team, PC APN Nurse Consultant at Bruyère Continuing Care in Ottawa. Ms. Bouvette is an original member of the MIPC’s Institute Advisory Committee.

West Island Palliative Care IMAGINE award*. This award honours a member of the community who has made a significant contribution to the Residence by bringing people from diverse backgrounds together to raise awareness about the importance of palliative care. The IMAGINE Award recipient is Mr. Doug Bellevue, Founder TASK Microelectronics and longtime supporter of the Residence.

*This year, the Awards ceremony is taking place in October to coincide with PROJECTION WEEK Montreal (October 14 -20). Exceptionally, in recognition of this occasion, a special IMAGINE Award was conferred.

The West Island Palliative Care Residence hereby inaugurates The Teresa Dellar Award. This award honours an individual or a group, working together as a team, who have made a significant contribution to furthering capabilities in, and access to, interdisciplinary palliative care through excellence in supportive care.